Just quickly

Just a quick post to say that I have actually done some stuff for my chartership this week. I’ve been categorising pieces of evidence for my portfolio using the assessment criteria and filing it both digitally and in hard copy. I’ve also finished writing my record of training courses, etc. and have started writing up my log of communications with my mentor. It’s not much, but it’s made me feel a bit better and a bit more on track.

Meanwhile, I’ve been applying for a revised version of my own job,  as our department within Library Services  is currently undergoing restructuring. It’s quite difficult to try and sell yourself to your own line managers, especially when you are not feeling particularly confident that you can do your own job as it currently is, without the additional responsibilities that may come with the new version of it. I think I’ve finished my application now, although I suspect it will change again before Wednesday, when it has to be handed in. Anyway, it’s been a useful experience to have to think about what it is I actually do and what skills and knowledge I need to do it.

This week I also observed and participated in the CILIP 2.0 – CILIP Council Open Session on Web 2.0 via Twitter.  It was an interesting experience! Lots of ideas good, bad and just quite strange, being floated around. I think I need  to go back and read the live blog to try to digest what was said.

2 thoughts on “Just quickly

  1. Katharine Widdows says:

    Wow, another place restructuring. We are also going through the process and have yet to hear any news on what the new structure will be – I’m hoping I will still have a job of some kind at the end of it.

    Good luck with the application. I hope it turns out well.

    K

  2. Lilian says:

    Thankfully we have been told their will be no redundancies at our place – I hope they’re right! However, it’s still disruptive and annoying.

    Hope you get through your restructuring OK. It does seem like a lot of places are going through it at the moment.

    L

Leave a Reply

