Thing 1: Blogs and blogging

I’ve rather belatedly, and probably rather foolishly, decided to attempt the 23 Things for Professional Development. I did ask people on Twitter if they thought it was a bad idea, and no one replied, so I thought I may as well give it a try.  Also, I noticed that next week is ‘catch up’ week, so now is probably as good a time as any to be a late starter!

I currently work as a Senior Library Assistant doing cataloguing in a university library in South East England. You can read all about my library routes and roots over at  my other blog, if you so wish. In case you don’t,  in summary: I worked as a graduate trainee library assistant in Oxford, then did a postgraduate qualification in Library and Information Studies at Aberystwyth, followed by lots of interviews before getting a Senior Library Assistant’s job in FE that I quite quickly regretted taking.  I worked in FE for 18 months, before getting a job at my current place of work as an Assistant Librarian. This was fine at first but became very stressful and I was not suited to it, so after 5 years of struggling I (with the help of managers and some external influence) moved roles to be a library assistant,  helping with periodicals and cataloguing, before applying for and getting my current job about six months ago when my former supervisor left. So, perhaps a slightly unsual career path, but I don’t regret moving down the ladder. I enjoy my current role.

 To be honest, I don’t know where I want to go now, which is part of the reaon I decide to take part in 23 Things. I think I need to get back the little confidence I started with all those years ago in Oxford, and gain a lot more before I can seriously contemplate moving onwards (but probably not upwards – management is definitely not for me!).

The things I’m most looking forward to about 23 Things is generally learning about lots of new things and hopefully gaining some confidence. So far, the thing I’m least looking forward to is Thing 3 – considering my personal brand! Really not me at all!

5 thoughts on “Thing 1: Blogs and blogging

  1. Annie Johnson says:

    As there’s no time limit, and the posts will probably be up on the blog until the day the internet (or Blogger) dies, it really doesn’t matter when you start! You might not be on the same Thing as most other people, but if you’re doing it at your own pace and gaining something from it, great!

  2. sarahgb says:

    Hi! Must have missed your tweet about taking part in cpd23, if I had seen it I would have encouraged you to take part. Welcome and look forward to reading all your other blogs. 🙂

  3. Sophie Durcan says:

    Hey, welcome to cpd23! I am loving it, something new (or two or three!) every week. I think everyone is working through at slightly different speeds, so you won’t be on your own 🙂

  4. becky w says:

    hello there, i just clicked on you via CPD 23Things delicious site. I’ve been reading your various blogs (is it about 3 in total?! )and am intrigued about your ups and downs n library life. Thanks for sharing.
    Im currently working in Oxford as a library assistant. So your links there jumped out at me. Afraid i’m not a qualified librarian but attempting to do CILIP certification (eventually!) and make a start on chartership one day (if i ever get there!)

Leave a Reply

