Thing 6: Online networks

Like many other people on the planet, I use Facebook. I sometimes wonder why I use it, and whether I even like it, but it does have its uses. I’ve got back in touch with people I haven’t seen for years and would have no other way of contacting, and it’s useful for organising events, or at least attempting to. I don’t update my status every day, just when I can think of some suitably interesting or random to say, which is not really very often. I do check what everyone else is up to on quite a regular basis, though.

The only other network mentioned in the CPD23 blog post  that I’ve used is CILIP Communities, but I haven’t been active there for a long time. I can’t remember if I’ve ever actually posted anything, I think I just had a look at it once. Hmm, this probably doesn’t really count as using it, does it? Perhaps I’d better have a look at it again and update my profile, etc.

I’ve just joined the LIS New Professionals Network, as part of this Thing and to try and explore it a bit more. I’m not sure I’ll use it very much, but I can see that it could be a very useful tool in some situations and it’s definitely a good way for new professionals to connect with each other and more long-standing members of the LIS profession.

I’m a bit wary of joining LinkedIn or any other online networks, mainly because I have enough trouble keeping up with the ones I’m already on! I can see the benefits of LinkedIn, particularly if job-seeking or trying to connect and keep in touch with people you might meet in a professional context but wouldn’t necessarily want to be ‘friends’ with on Facebook, but I don’t think it’s really for me at this time.

Leave a Reply

