Thing 17: Prezi

I’ve never used either of these tools before, so I thought I’d better try at least one before writing about it, otherwise I wouldn’t have much to say! I gave Prezi a go, and it was an interesting experience! It was quite different to what I’d expected, which I think was just more of an online PowerPoint type thing, but it’s not that at all, really (although I suppose it can be, depending on what you create).

I’m afraid I probably didn’t spend enough time looking at the instructions, which perhaps didn’t help, but it was fairly intuitive, although I did have a bit of a problem when I tried to edit my prezi again after going into the ‘Show’ view. I think I’ve worked it out now, though.

I really liked the creativity Prezi allows. Although PowerPoint is a lot better than it used to be in this regard, it’s still very much a slideshow-type effort, whereas Prezi allows for a completely different type of navigation between words and images, or whatever you want to put in your presentation. It’s very wizzy, although I did find the way things zoom up onto the screen to be a bit vertigo-inducing at first!

I can see that Prezi would be really useful for anyone who gives presentations on a regular basis, particularly if you want to do something a bit different – to keep students a bit more engaged, for example. Although I don’t think I will use it in my current job (although one never knows) it’s a good tool to add to the tool-kit of things to have handy for potential future jobs.

Unfortunately, I can’t embed the presentation in my WordPress blog. This is an issue with WordPress, rather than with Prezi, as WordPress doesn’t allow embedding of anything Flash-based. It’s rather annoying. If you really want to see my test presentation (which is very short and not very exciting) you can do so on the Prezi site.

One thought on “Thing 17: Prezi

Leave a Reply

