Thing 19: Catch up on integrating ‘things’

A look at how I’ve been integrating the ‘things’ I’ve learned about into my professional life…or not. Thing 18 will follow at some point!

Blogging

I’m continuing to blog here (obviously), mainly about the 23 Things, and over at my other blog, mainly not about work. I still haven’t been all that good at reading other library-related blogs, apart from the ones I follow using iGoogle.

Current awareness (Twitter, RSS feeds, Pushnote)

I still use Twitter, but mainly just for tweeting my own blog posts. I’m still not very good at tweeting on a regular basis, and, as we’re still not allowed to use Twitter for official work purposes, I don’t use it for official work-related things. I’m still finding it useful for current awareness, and I’ll try and get better at contributing my own tweets.

As mentioned above, I’m still following various library/information blogs using RSS feeds through iGoogle.

Evernote

Evernote is still proving to be a really useful tool, although I mainly use it for non-work purposes. I’ve found it helpful for writing draft blog posts, or just noting down ideas for posts, and for keeping people’s contact details and bookmarking websites, among other things.

Referencing tools

I haven’t needed to use RefWorks since I did the ‘thing’ about it! I’m sure its time will come, though.

One thought on “Thing 19: Catch up on integrating ‘things’

  1. radoveden says:

    Funny, I have same feeling. I call Evernote my maid for all work nowadays, I used twitter with twitterfeed and that is all. cpd23 convinced me to use it in a wider sense and I try it but it is still difficult for me. Blogging is a kind of social self reflexing for me… I don’t know for you. But I don’t use iGoogle as RSS-feed, I use Google reader.

Leave a Reply

