Things 20: The Library Routes Project

I blogged about my route into librarianship for Thing 10, so for Thing 20 I had a look at other people’s blog posts about their ‘library routes and roots‘ to see how their routes compared with mine.

So I’ve done that, and it seems that quite a lot of people’s roots into the library and information world were fairly similar to my own – degree, no idea what they wanted to do, work experience/graduate traineeship, postgraduate qualification in LIS, struggle getting first job, getting first job, etc. Unlike me, some people were sure from an early age that librarianship was the career for them, and, also unlike me, some people started out in other careers before they realised that library work was actually what they wanted to do.

The nice thing about reading about other people’s library roots/routes was that most people who are now working in LIS seem to really like it, and feel that they’re in the right job for them. It’s good to know there are people out there who are happy in their work!

I’m still not entirely sure what the right job for me is. My current job is the first library job since doing my traineeship that I’ve enjoyed (most of the time!), and even now I don’t feel massively fulfilled in my work, or particularly valued by the organisation I work for. So, I wonder if I’m really in the right career, or whether I’m just working for the wrong organisation!

Because of the way my career path has gone I quite often feel like a failure, even though I know that taking the steps down the career ladder was the right thing to do. I worry the profession doesn’t want people like me anymore – I’m not dynamic or extrovert. I’m rather like a stereotypical librarian, in fact. How ironic that this might now mean I’m in the wrong career!

Thing 18 is still on its way!

2 thoughts on “Things 20: The Library Routes Project

  1. Lauren says:

    Hello! 🙂 Maybe, if you feel like you’d quite like to change something, you could sit down and have a think about what would make you really really ridiculously happy in a job and see if there are any small things you could do to take some steps towards it?

    As far as there being a place for you in the profession goes, I get the impression that you care about helping people, about what you do, and doing it well. Sounds pretty fine to me 🙂

    • Lilian says:

      Thanks 🙂

      Yes, I should probably have a think about what would really make me happy in terms of work. I did try doing ‘What colour is your parachute?’, but I didn’t get very far thorough it!

Leave a Reply

