Long time, no write

Well not on this blog anyway. The main reason for this is that I was on maternity leave from January 2014 until February this year, so not much happened library-wise during that time. Since I’ve now been back at work almost six months I thought I should get back to writing some more about my library-related life.

I’m still working in the same role (Senior Library Assistant, Cataloguing), but only three days a week, which is plenty with a small daughter (B) to look after. We’ve recently gone through the busiest time of year for the Bibliographic Services team – lots of ordered books etc. to invoice and catalogue, so that’s mainly what I’ve been doing, cataloguing-wise. We finished most of the ordered items last week, so now I’m working on some donations.

As far as the repository is concerned, there have been a few changes, including a new Special Collections Assistant Librarian (part-time), who works the same days of the week as me. We’re working on various tasks at the moment, including setting up unique IDs for depositors, re-vamping the repository web pages and getting involved with Open Access initiatives across the university, as well as the usual day-to-day metadata creation and editing.

I attended one day of the CILIP Cataloguing and Indexing Group’s biennial conference in September 2014, but sadly I never got round to writing it up – very bad, I know! It was my first cataloguing conference, and I really enjoyed it. It was very informative and encouraging, and good to meet people I’d previously only interacted with on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

